Birth Matters

is a roadmap to options during pregnancy and birth. Because Birth Matters! 

Birthmatters.be offers choices by providing information, recent scientific insights and figures on birth care. In addition, we share birth stories, tips and stories of experience from parents, midwives and other birth workers.

Birth Matters
Birth Matters

Midwife?


Get to know us so that we can get to know you too!

The founders of BirthMatters.be are all midwives, experienced in the independent accompaniment of births and united by our passion for midwifery guided birth care.

Protocols versus personal choices: why choose a midwife?

Protocols versus personal choices: why choose a midwife?

After a positive pregnancy test, many Belgian women immediately call their general practitioner or gynaecologist for a 15-minute consultation. Midwife Lieve Huybrechts explains why midwives often take more than an hour and why couples choose this approach. Picture by...

read more

Stories

Dive into these stories and get inspired!

Cléo’s birth story

Cléo’s birth story

My birth story.The most intense day of my life. I gave birth to my little miracle, Cléo, at 9.06 p.m. on 2 June 2020. I had no idea that this adventure would last 22 hours and would be of indescribable intensity would be.Picture by Kathleen Van VaerenberghOn the 1st...

read more
Experiences of a student midwife

Experiences of a student midwife

Picture by Marlies De VrieseThe hospital is a necessary learning environment for a midwifery student. You will learn the technical procedures that are essential to the profession (vaginal examination, blood sampling, infusion therapy, sondage, hygiene, sterility,...

read more

Gallery

A picture says more than a thousand words.
These pure photos were all made by (birth)photographers with a warm heart for BirthMatters.be.

Ursula Cardenas
Miro

Noa & Laure figure it out

Find answers to the questions you didn’t know you had!

In the spotlight

 

Illustration by le coeur à marée basse

Call the midwife

Some midwives work solo, others group together and form a group practice. Via the link below you will find an overview of the midwives who offer midwife-led assisted birth care. Contact the midwife in your neighbourhood and walk this wonderful path together!

Birth Matters

Give birthmatters.be a boost by supporting us financially!

Are you also enthusiastic about the idea that every (future) parent can experience his or her birth process in an informed and positive way? Would you like to help strengthen the midwife in her autonomy and put her work in the spotlight? Do you want the midwife students, the midwives of tomorrow, to have access to a broader view of Belgian birth care?
Boost us!

©2020 Birth Matters | Privacy

Birth Matters

BirthMatters.be propose des choix en fournissant des informations, des points de vue scientifiques récents et des chiffres sur les soins de maternité.

Birthmatters.be est un site web plein d’articles scientifiques, réécrits dans un langage accessible à tous. De plus on y trouve des histoires de naissance fortes et une galerie de photos de naissance chaleureuses.

Birth Matters
Birth Matters

Sage-femme?

Et si nous faisions connaissance?

Il existe des sages-femmes en tout genre, étudiantes, détentrices d’un doctorat, à l’hôpital ou chez vous, en cabinet privé ou à l’ONE.

Histoires

Découvrez ces histoires et laissez-vous inspirer!

Histoire de naissance de Cléo

Histoire de naissance de Cléo

Mon accouchement.Le plus intense jour de ma vie. J’ai accouché le 2 juin 2020 à 21h06 de ma petite merveille Cléo. J’étais loin de me douter que cette aventure durerait 22h et serait d’une intensité à toute épreuve. Picture by Kathleen Van VaerenberghAprès une belle...

lire plus

Galerie

Une image vaut mieux qu’un long discours.

Ces photos authentiques ont toutes été réalisées par des photographes avec tout leur enthousiasme pour Birthmatters.be.

Birth Matters

Noa & Laure à la recherche

Trouvez des réponses aux questions dont vous ne saviez pas que vous les aviez !

a l’honneur

 

Illustration by le coeur à marée basse

Call the midwife

Certaines sages-femmes travaillent seules, d’autres se regroupent et forment un cabinet de groupe. Via le lien ci-dessous, vous trouvez la liste des sages-femmes qui proposent et guident des soins d’accouchement. Contactez la sage-femme de votre région et vivez ensemble cette magnifique aventure!

Birth Matters
Birth Matters

DONNEZ UN COUP DE POUCE A BIRTHMATTERS.BE EN NOUS SOUTENANT FINANCIÈREMENT !

Vous aussi vous vous échauffez à l’idée que chaque (futur) parent puisse vivre son projet de naissance d’une manière informée et positive ? Vous souhaitez aider les sages-femmes à renforcer leur autonomie et mettre leur travail en avant ? Vous souhaitez que les étudiants sage-femme, les sages-femmes de demain, aient accès à une vue plus large sur les soins de maternité en Belgique ?

©2020 Birth Matters | Privacy